FI-170721

I recently “reset” Windows 10 and am still finding things that need putting back to how they were before I pressed the button on the nuclear option

Confirm Folder Replace - figure 1

Figure 1

For instance, I often wish to copy the contents of a folder with a given name into another folder with the same name that is somewhere else on my system. Since I reset Windows (ie “re-installed” it – see my recent blog on re-setting Windows), this brings up a dialog box every time as in Figure 1.

It’s already reached the stage where I’m nearly screaming at it – “of course I want to do that. Haven’t you learned yet?” No, of course it hasn’t learned yet: Windows 10 is not yet as bright as us humans. So I’ve had to re-acquaint myself with the tweak that’s needed to tell it to go ahead every time without asking.

As is so often the case, the answer is quite easy when you know how. So here it is, and as illustrated in Figure 2:

  • Open File Explorer
  • Click on the “View” tab at the top of the window
  • Click on the “Options” button at the right of the ribbon
  • Click on the “View” tab at the top of the dialog box that has just opened
  • Scroll down until you find the item called “hide folder merge conflicts” and put a tick in the box
  • Click on OK
Confirm Folder Replace - figure 2

Figure 2

That’s all that is needed.

I feel as if I am cheating by writing such a short blog post this week, but then I remind myself of just how potty it has been driving me getting that message once or twice a day, so I hope this simple tweak helps other people.

For what it’s worth, Figure 3 below shows how I configure all of the other options in the dialog box we’ve just had open.

Advanced Folder Options - Figure 3

Figure 3

© 2011-2019 David Leonard
Computer Support in London
Privacy Policy Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha